STUDIO PHOTOGRAPHY INSIGHT HANGOUT

JOIN THE HANGOUT TONIGHT AT 8pm MST.

Tonight please join us in a Google Hangout where we go over last weeks assignment to shoot an ad style watch shot.  Alex Koloskov & Dave Nitsche have been hosting a weekly google hangout. This will be the 8th one I think. It starts at 8pm MST.

SKAGEN TITANIUM WATCH

Well, it took me some time, and bit of cursing, but I think I got the shot I was after. After about 50 shots, I was able to get the shot I was looking for. I wanted rim lighting from the sides but the hard part was to get the face to be lit the way I envisioned it. I kept getting crazy reflections and what I wanted was a nice gradient of light across it. I ended up using a piece of white foam core board placed in front of the watch to reflect light from the side of the strip box back onto the face. I tell you, I tried all sorts of ways to get what I wanted, and then once I had tried holding a piece of board where I did in the end I knew I had the shot! Not sure what the time was to be set for or if there was a standard, but now after I’ve finished I started to look in magazines, and online and noticed that 10:10 seems to be the ideal time. It may be, but I do quite like the way the hands look here as well.

Do you know why 10:10 is ideal? If so, please leave some comments below so myself and others can benefit from insight on the standards that I’m not aware of.

If your interested in following me on Twitter you can either click on the link below or go to twitter and click on follow. I’m now also on Google Plus which is a great new platform. Are you on Facebook? If so please ‘like’ the Maugiart Photography Page.

Here are some BTS (Behind the scenes) shots of my setup. The watch is hard to see here but you can see my DIY strip box with the white board I used to reflect the gradient of light. Bottom left shows the other strip box through a diffuser.

Here you can see how I suspended the watch with fishing line on a home made metal contraption with self tapped holes to position in various ways on a spare tripod.

Here is a closer shot of the watch setup with strip box to the right through translucent fabric diffuser.

Leave a Reply

